Mark of Distinction by Jessica Dotta ~ Review

Mark of Distinction (Price of Privilege, #2)My Review:

From one fire to another, Julia finds herself under the protection of her guardian, Lord Pierson, who has decided to make himself known as her father. Now the pawn of not one, but two powerful men, Julia wonders if she will ever see her dear Edward again.

Meanwhile, she finds herself plunged into high society, attending balls as the enigmatic Emerald Heiress. A hero comes forth in the form of Lord Isaac Dalry, who appoints himself her protector and advocate, doing everything in his power to help her feel at home in her new environment. But Macy's grip on her is far from loosed, his men watch her every move, and Julia doesn't know whom to trust.

Mr. Forrester, the unscrupulous newspaperman hounds her every step, taunting her, and teasing her with his knowledge of her past connection to Macy. As secrets from her past are threatening to be revealed, and the lives of the ones she loves are put at stake, Julia finds herself seeking comfort and solace the one place she swore she would never turn. God.

Will Julia ever be free from the dangerous game being played around her?

I loved this book! It picks up right where Born of Persuasion leaves off, as Julia finds her self plunged into a world of wealth and privilege, where lines are blurred and only the strong truly survive. Filled with mystery and intrigue, Ms. Dotta weaves a web of intricate secrets revealing one, only to expose thousands of other untold threads.

I was immediately drawn into the world of blackmail and secrets, where many of the characters are not what they at first seem. I think my favorite character in this book was Isaac Dalry. Isaac had such depth to him, and he was nothing but honorable, ever compassionate, and forgiving. I also admired his great strength of character, and his strong faith that he lived out everyday, though he had his human failings. He reminded me of Mr. Knightley (my favorite Austen hero), ever proper in public, yet with a warm heart that knows how to have fun in private. His sister, Kate was an absolute delight. And I can't help but think that he will be a huge part of the next book in the series, with more about the mysterious Ben to be revealed.

Overall, this was a thrilling read, perfect for fans of Austen and Bronte, with all the intensity and tension of the Tudor court. Julia has grown so much over the course of her journey, yet I fear the worst is yet to come. There were so many unexpected twists and turns, which kept my head fairly spinning the whole way through.  I loved every minute of it! This fantastic book left me begging for more, and I can't wait to see what will happen next!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and testimonials in Advertising."

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love to hear from you!